As an internationally acclaimed competition, the SIMA Innovation Awards have, since 1931, paid tribute to the most innovative products, technologies and services presented by SIMA’s exhibitors. Each successive roll of honour reveals underlying trends in how farming machinery is developing, the concerns of users, and the responses offered to them by manufacturers and solution suppliers.
As a logical consequence of the new positioning of the show, the SIMA Innovation Awards have also received a total overhaul! Read on to find all about these major changes together with the deadlines to enter and benefit from unique visibility towards the entire SIMA ecosystem.
A new selection process and new categories
New in 2021: to bring better clarity to the competition and make it more consistent with the exhibition sectors of SIMA, the entries and winners will be split into categories in line with the exhibition sector organisation:
  • Soils and crops
  • From harvest to storage
  • Livestock farming and renewable energy
  • Forestry, roadsides and landscaping,
  • Parts, services and onboard electronics.
Furthermore, two special awards will be making their debut:
  • Occupational health and safety / working conditions
  • Sustainable innovation (outstanding innovation in connection with agroecology and sustainable agriculture)
Once the judges have examined the entries, the SIMA Innovation Awards panel will shortlist a selection of nominees which will be announced on 26 November 2020 at the exhibition Preview. From this list of nominees, the judges will then determine the winners of gold, silver or bronze medals. These will be revealed during SIMA at the official prizegiving ceremony on 22 February 2021.
As an internationally acclaimed competition, the SIMA Innovation Awards offer all entrants the opportunity to benefit from unique visibility towards the entire SIMA ecosystem before, during and after the show.

A new chairmanship
To study each entry in detail and offer the guarantee of top-class expertise from all the markets and sectors present at SIMA, the judging panel is made up of the best French and international specialists. More than 20 members, ranging from science directors and research fellows to engineers, lecturers and regular equipment users, pool their expertise to determine a unique roll of honour! To analyse each entry, the members of the jury also call on technical experts from their network. In all, around 100 specialists offer their opinions to pick out the winners. Thanks to these people, the SIMA Innovation Awards are considered a benchmark on the farming machinery, technology and service market.
For the 2021 edition of the SIMA Innovation Awards, Christian HUYGHE, agriculture science director of INRAE (National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment) has been appointed chairman of the judges.
In addition, a new judging panel has been put together, delivering better representation of all the sectors and expertise in the sector. This panel is made up of the best French and international specialists. The full list of judges can be found here.

Entries now open: key dates to remember
  • From now: platform open for submission of entries; participation open to all exhibitors from their SIMA customer zone.
  • 25 September 2020 evening: deadline for entries.
  • Week of 23 November 2020, at the Preview: announcement of nominees in each category.
  • 22 February 2021: announcement of prize winners at a special evening during SIMA.